Blount Press Row
Don't Miss

Week ending Feb. 8

Thomas, Upchurch named 4AAA players of the year

Congratulations are in order for Heritage’s Leah Thomas and Maryville’s Easton Upchurch.

The pair was named District 4AAA girls’ and boys’ players of the year with the close of the regular season last week.

Untitled-2Maryville’s Mark Eldridge was named boys’ coach of the year.

Thomas, a senior guard, put up a ferocious flourish in the run to the finish, including a blistering, 27-point effort on nine 3-pointers in a 57-53 win over Hardin Valley on Tuesday. The nine bombs were one off the school record. It marked the second time on the week Thomas had hit for 25 or better.

Upchurch, along with older brother and Maryville point guard Tristan, has been quite the find for the regular season championship Rebels. The smooth-shooting Easton has proven Maryville’s top gun this season. The Rebels knocked off No. 1-ranked Bearden, 64-56, in Knoxville in the final district contest to claim the No. 1 seeding in this week’s district tournament at Maryville.

Heritage senior Leah Thomas receives a commemorative plaque from Lady Mountaineer coach Rick Howard after Thomas scored the 1,000th point of her career earlier this season.

Leah Thomas receives a plaque for reaching 1,000 points from Heritage coach Rick Howard.

All-District 4AAA Girls Team

Player of the Year — Leah Thomas, Heritage
Coach of the Year — Justin Underwood, Bearden

All-district team: Amber Click, William Blount: Abbey Cornelius, Hardin Valley; Madison Coulter, Maryville; Chandler Geer, Bearden; Lanor Heslin, West; Mikayla Hutsell, Heritage; Sue Yun Kim, Farragut; Kassi Knight, Heritage; Jaiden McCoy, Farragut; Olivia Pepperman, Maryville; Olivia Pfeifer, Bearden; Lindsey Roddy, William Blount; Anajae Stephney, Bearden; Kayla Tillie, Maryville; Amberlee Zeller, Lenoir City.

Honorable Mention: Brooklyn Battle, Hardin Valley; Miranda Burt, Farragut; Holly Hagood, Bearden; Trinity Lee, Bearden; Summer Morris, William Blount; Anna Ray, Maryville; Madison Rice, Bearden; Katie Wolfe, Heritage; Ashlyn Zeller, Lenoir City.


Easton Upchurch sets up a move against Catholic.

Easton Upchurch sets up a move against Catholic.

All-District 4AAA Boys Team
Player of the Year — Easton Upchurch, Maryville
Coach of the Year — Mark Eldridge, Maryville

All-district team: Ty Allen, Farragut; T.D. Blackmon, Maryville; Dylan Brewster, Lenoir City; Austin Duncan, Bearden; Blake Ervin, Heritage; John Evans, West; Quez Fair, Bearden; Joel Graham, William Blount; David Kraski, West; Dalton Price, Maryville; Andrew Pryor, Heritage; Alexander Rather, Farragut; Blaine Shockley, Hardin Valley; Jason Smith, Bearden; Tristan Upchurch, Maryville.

Honorable Mention: Jai Atkins, William Blount; Kenaan Berger, Heritage; Brandon Davis, Heritage; Tyler Durden, Hardin Valley; Matthew Eggert, Farragut; Adam Fulcher, Bearden; Jake Long, Heritage; Spencer Lowe, Maryville; Keegan McGuire, Farragut; Bryce Miller, Maryville; Andrew Petree, Maryville; Rashawn Tallent, Lenoir City; Shandel Willis, West.

One Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply