Blount Press Row

After Further Review

TSSAA says official applied correct rule on Rebel 2-point conversion

Quarterback Nick Myers makes the catch as Maryville goes for two with 45 seconds left. Photo by Jolanda Jansma

By Stefan Cooper
Editor
Blount Press Row

The Maryville coaching staff was told on the sideline right tackle Brad Fields (50) was "in the end zone" when the ball was thrown. Photo by Brandon Shinn

The play stands.

The Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association said on Thursday an ineligible receiver penalty assessed against Maryville on a two-point conversion try in last Saturday’s Class 6A state championship game was “a judgment call” and the official who made the call applied the correct rule.

The Cody Carroll to Nick Myers trick-play pass would have given Maryville a 29-28 lead with 45 seconds remaining in the BlueCross Bowl finale. The Rebels elected for a Miguel McNelly kick on the do-over.

Whitehaven went for two after scoring on the second possession of overtime, and Tiger running back Mark Dodson’s scampered to the right corner of the end zone for a 36-35 win for the school’s first state title.

“That’s disappointing,” said Maryville coach George Quarles of the TSSAA review. “I don’t want to say too much about it. It’s over. It’s done. Move on is all we can do, but it’s very disappointing.”

Video and photographic evidence contradicts both the ruling and what the Rebel coaching staff was told on the sideline after the play.

On the play, Maryville running back Shawn Prevo took a direct snap from center Drew Curtis and started left. Carroll, a receiver split left, took the ball from Prevo on an end around, flipping a short toss to a wide open Nick Myers, the Rebel quarterback, for the points.

The play was negated when the umpire, located behind the linebackers on the Whitehaven defense, ruled Maryville right tackle Brad Fields was ineligibly downfield.

The TSSAA staff member in charge of officials reviewed the play, assistant director Matthew Gillespie said.

No. 50 at far left of video capture is Rebel lineman Brad Fields.

“He said the rule for why they threw the flag was called correctly,” Gillespie said. “It became a judgment call of if he (Fields) was on the 1 and ½ or the 1(-yard line).”

The Maryville coaching staff immediately asked for an explanation on the sideline after the call.

“They came over and said, ‘Coach, your lineman (Fields) was in the end zone when the ball was thrown,’” Quarles said.

Photo and video evidence offers incontrovertible proof Fields was still a full yard from the goal line as Myers makes the catch. (Please see post “You Make The Call.”)

Maryville itself was its own worst enemy on the night, two interceptions and two lost fumbles critical mistakes, Quarles said. The Rebels should never have left it that close, he said.

“Sometimes life isn’t fair,” Quarles said, “but you learn from it.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply